Channel Challenge

Abonneren op feed Channel Challenge
Bijgewerkt: 37 min 14 sec geleden

IJsselmeer nu definitief in International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame

do, 13/05/2021 - 16:34

2020 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Virtual Ceremonies 

Bekijk het helemaal / Watch it all @ WOWSA!

Since 1963, the world’s best channel swimmers, marathon swimmers, stage swimmers, extreme swimmers, and circumnavigation swimmers, marathon swimming coaches, escort pilots, and administrators around the world have been honored in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. To date, 306 individuals and organizations have been recognized by their peers and been inscribed on the Sea Goddess, a trophy on permanent display at the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

So the first virtual International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction and awards ceremony were held and the Class of 2020 were introduced. Ned Denison and Melissa Roberts were the co-hosts and nearly 40 living inductees participated virtually. The Class of 2020 inductees included:

IJsselmeerIMSHoF

IMSHOF will run a LIVE virtual Class of 2020 Induction and Awards Ceremony on Zoom.

wo, 31/03/2021 - 23:09
Date: zaterdag, 1 mei, 2021 - 21:00 tot 23:00

Please mark your calendars to attend this virtual event (from the safety of your own home with your family). Closer to the time we will supply connection details.

Saturday 1 May California 12 noon-2pm ; Chicago 2-4pm ; New York/Toronto 3-5pm ; Brazil/Argentina 4-6pm ; London 8-10pm ; Amsterdam/Budapest/Cairo/Rome 9-11pm and Bulgaria/Athens/Moscow 10-12 midnight

Sunday 2 May Mumbai 00:30-2 :30 am ; Perth/Hong Kong 3-5am ; Melbourne 5-7 am and New Zealand 7-9 am
Sorry for the terrible times for Asia , Australia and New Zealand.

No single time works for all. Please remember that IMSHOF conducted the previous physical ceremony in Australia (our first time ever and evidence that we do love you ) and that the travellers to New York City in 2021 (cancelled - which is why we are going virtual) would be airborne at the same terrible times.

IMSHoF

20% of People Have a Genetic Mutation That Provides Superior Resilience to Cold

vr, 12/03/2021 - 13:54

Almost one in five people lack the protein α-aktinin-3 in their muscle fiber. Researchers at Karolinska Institutet in Sweden now show that more of the skeletal muscle of these individuals comprises slow-twitch muscle fibers, which are more durable and energy-efficient and provide better tolerance to low temperatures than fast-twitch muscle fibers. The results are published in the scientific journal The American Journal of Human Genetics.

Skeletal muscle comprises fast-twitch (white) fibers that fatigue quickly and slow-twitch (red) fibers that are more resistant to fatigue. The protein α-aktinin-3, which is found only in fast-twitch fibers, is absent in almost 20 percent of people – almost 1.5 billion individuals – due to a mutation in the gene that codes for it. In evolutionary terms, the presence of the mutated gene increased when humans migrated from Africa to the colder climates of central and northern Europe.

Please read the fulle article @ SciTechDaily

cold water & ice swimming (IISA)backgrounds - tips - achtergronden

Can Cold Water Cure Dementia?

vr, 12/03/2021 - 13:29
New research suggests swimming in cold water could provide big brain benefits

If you took part in a polar plunge to clear the cobwebs and ring in the New Year feeling refreshed and ready, you might want to consider adding some more chilly splashes the rest of the year. It might not all be in your head—or maybe that brand-new feeling is in the very cells of your brain itself.

It seems there could be a connection between swimming in cold water and a healthier brain, according to new research led by Giovanna Mallucci, a professor of clinical neurosciences and associate director of the UK Dementia Research Institute at the University of Cambridge. Her team has recently produced some compelling evidence that cold water swimming could slow age-related cognitive decline and maybe even hold the key to a future cure for dementia.

Although the science is still in its infancy, Mallucci and her team have discovered a potentially promising “cold-shock” protein in the blood of winter swimmers who engage in the practice regularly at London’s Parliament Hill Lido, a 60-meter-long, unheated, outdoor pool that’s open year-round. The protein, called RBM3, is also found in hibernating mammals, such as bears and bats.

Inducing a controlled state of hypothermia has a lengthy history in clinical settings and is often used to help people survive and recover from cardiac procedures and head injuries. That’s because it’s long been understood that being cold offers survival advantages to someone facing a traumatic injury or surgery. Why exactly cold helps protect the body isn’t entirely clear.

read the full article @ USMS

cold water & ice swimming (IISA)backgrounds - tips - achtergronden