Netherlands triumph in Cozumel

Elite international open water swimmers raced 15 km on April 25 in Cozumel (MEX) for the second meet of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2015.

Sharon Van Roundwendaal and Ferry Weertman from the Netherlands captured gold rounding up respectively in the women’s (3h03m56s) and in the men’s (2h48m23s) races, their first victory in the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix.

Sharon Van Roundwendaal won this weekend over Italy’s Alice Franco, the winner of the first meet of the Grand Prix in Argentina. This time Alice Franco claimed silver (3h04m04s) while the Mexican Zaira Cardenas finished third (3h06m05s) in the women’s race.

In the men’s race, Brian Ryckeman of Belgium and Ercoli Simone of Italy stood on the second and third steps of the podium finishing the competition in 2h48m36s and 2h49m49s.

A total 37 swimmers (13 women and 24 men) from 15 countries took the departure on the Mexican Island.

The next stop of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix will be in Lac St-Jean in Canada on July 25.

Full results

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2015 calendar:
February 8, Villa Urquiza-Parana (ARG)
April 25, Cozumel (MEX)

July 25, Lac St-Jean (CAN)
August 1, Lac Memphrémagog (CAN)
August 29, Ohrid Lake (MKD)
September 6, Capri-Napoli (ITA)

press release: